FE Today Logo

Bangladesh-Windies second Test begins today in Kingston

July 12, 2018 00:00:00

After a shameful innings defeat in the first Test touching a new low in their cricketing history, Shakib Al Hasan's Bangladesh Cricket team will take on hosts West Indies in the 2nd and last Test match beginning today (Thursday) in Kingston in a hope to salvage their reputation and pride, reports UNB.

In the first Test at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua, Tigers suffered an embarrassing innings and 219 runs defeat scoring their ever-lowest Test total 43 runs in 18.4 overs in the first innings and 144 runs in the 2nd innings, replying to Caribbean's 407 runs.

West Indian pacer Kemar Roach made the major damage in the Bangladesh first innings with a remarkable figure of 5/8 off five overs, including the wickets of Mushfiqur Rahim, skipper Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah Riyad-all for ducks.

This was the second shortest first innings in Test history.

Australia's 60 all out against England in 2015, was top of the list by a long time before the match.

They made 60 in 18.3 overs. It is the lowest total in any innings of a Test in the last 44 years - since India were bowled out for 42 against England.

It is Bangladesh's lowest total in the format since gaining Test status in 2001, a good 19 runs short of their previous lowest (62) against Sri Lanka in 2007.

On completion of two-match Test series, Bangladesh will play a three-match ODI series beginning on July 22 in addition to three-match T20 series against the West Indies, but the participation of Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe in the series now became uncertain as his wife is sick.

Bangladesh Cricket Board will wait until Friday, the day before the ODI specialist team leaving Dhaka.

If her condition improves, however, Mashrafe could fly out, especially given the length of time remaining before the series-opener.

If he stays at home, Shakib Al Hasan will take over the ODI captaincy

The Tigers will play a three-match ODI series on July 22, 25 and 28 and also play a three-match T20 series on July 31, Aug 4 and 5 against the West Indies.

Share if you like