FE Today Logo
Search date: 24-06-2019 Return to current date: Click here

By-polls to Bogura-6 today

June 24, 2019 00:00:00

Election materials are being taken from Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura to the polling stations on Sunday as by-polls to Bogura-06 constituency will be held today (Monday) — Focus Bangla

BOGURA, June 23 (UNB): The by-election to Bogura-6 constituency will be held on Monday.

Voting will begin at 9am and continue until 5pm without any break.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has completed all the preparations to smoothly hold the by-polls using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The constituency was declared vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary seat in the December 30 general election, did not take oath as MP within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of parliament.

Golam Mohammad Siraj of BNP, T Zaman Niketa of Awami League, Nurul Islam Omar of Jatiya Party, Dr Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress, Mufti Rafiqul Islam of Muslim League and independent candidate Md Minhaz Mondal are there in the election race.

Besides, another independent candidate Syed Kabir Ahmed Mithu quit the election race after the expiry of the deadline.

Share if you like