NBR will honour 656 taxpayers

FE Report | Sunday, 4 November 2018

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) will honour some 656 taxpayers across the country as recognition of their payment of income tax for Fiscal Year (FY) 2017-18.
Of them, some 141 taxpayers will receive tax cards under three categories at the national level while 370 taxpayers will get tax cards as top taxpayers and 145 as long-term taxpayers at the district level.
The NBR has published a gazette, dated November 1, 2018, containing the names of the top taxpayers.
A senior NBR official said the top taxpayers  would be honoured on November 12, 2018 for their contribution to the public exchequer.
Of the 141 national level tax-card holders, the NBR has selected about 76 individuals and 55 companies.
Top taxpaying businessmen, lawyers, journalists, physicians, artists, singers, banks and non-baking financial institutions, leather and footwear industries, engineers, architects, accountants, players, telecommunications companies, food and beverage companies, energy, jute, spinning and textile, pharmaceuticals and chemical industries, real estate companies, readymade garments, firms, local authority will receive tax cards at the national level.
Among the district-level highest taxpayers, Rupali Chowdhury of Berger Paints, Salahuddin Kasem Khan of AK Khan and Company Limited, Latifur Rahman of Transcom Group and Abdul Muktadir of Incepta Pharmaceuticals will receive the honour.
Young taxpayers below 40 years and women taxpayers will also receive tax cards as highest taxpayers.
The taxpayers selected for the laurels are in the following categories:
Banking category: Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd, Standard Chartered Bank, The Hongkong and Sanghai Banking Corporation, South East Bank Ltd, Pubali Bank Ltd.
Non-bank financial institution category: IDLC Finance Ltd, Investment Corporation of Bangladesh, Bangladesh Infrastructure Finance Fund Ltd, Uttara Finance and Investment Ltd.
Leather industries category: Apex Footwear Ltd, Bata Shoe Company (Bangladesh) Ltd, Lalmai Footwear Ltd.
Journalist category: Mohammad Abdul Malek, Mahfuz Anam, Shykh Seraj, Matiur Rahman and Nayeem Nizam.
Businessmen category: Md Kaus Mian, Md Nuruzzaman Chand, Kamrul Ashraf Khan, Alhaj Syed Abul Hossain, Abdul Kadir Molla.
Telecommunication category: Grameenphone Ltd.
Engineering category: BSRM Stills Ltd, PHP Cold Rolling Mills Ltd, PHP Nof Continuous Galvanizing Mills Ltd.
Food and relevant category: Nestle Bangladesh Ltd, Olympic Industries Ltd, Transcom Beverages Ltd.
Petroleum category: Titas Gas Transmission and Distribution Company Ltd, Sylhet Gas Fields Ltd, Chevron Bangladesh Blocks Thirteen and Fourteen Ltd.
Jute industries category: Janata Jute Mills Ltd, Super Jute Mills, Aiyan Jute Mills Ltd.
Spinning and textile category: Coats Bangladesh Ltd, Apex Textile Printing Mills Ltd, Badsha Textile Ltd, Square Textiles Ltd, Envoy Textiles Ltd, Fakhruddin Textile Mills Ltd, Square Fashion Yarns Ltd.
Medicine and chemical industry category: Unilever Bangladesh Ltd, Square Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Renata Ltd, Incepta Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
Print and electronic media category: East West Media Group Ltd, Transcraft Ltd, Media World Ltd, Media Star Ltd.
Real estate category: Spacezero Ltd, Bay Developments Ltd, The Structural Engineers Ltd.
Readymade garments category: Rifat Garments Ltd, GMS Composite Knitting Industries Ltd, That's It Sportswear Ltd, Ripon Knitwear Ltd, Four H Fashions Ltd, KDS Garments Industries Ltd, Apex Lingerie Ltd.
Farm category: Walton Micro-tech Corporation, M/s SN Corporation, Walton Plaza, M/s ASBS.
Local authority category: Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB)
Individuals Company category: Mongla Cement Factory, Sena Kalyan Electric Industries Ltd.
New taxpayer category: Mia Monika Rafiqulovona, Tafijul Islam Piyal, Rana Malik, Siyatunnessa, Selina Akter, Saiful Islam, Russel Roy.
Player category: Sakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafi Bin Mortuza.
Actor/Actress category: Mahfuz Ahmed, MA Jalil Ananta, SA Abul Hayat.
Singer (Male/Female) category: Tahsan Rahman Khan, Runa Laila, SD Rubel.
Accountant category: Md Moktar Hossain, M B M Lutful Hadi, Bimalendu Chakrabarty.
Senior citizen category: Golam Dastagir Gazi,Tapan Chowdhury, Engineer Khandker Badrul Hasan, Samuel S Chowdhury, Anita Chowdhury
War-injured freedom fighter category: Lt Gen ASM Nasim (retd), Md Nasir Uddin Mridha, Md Idris Ali Mian, S M Abdul Wahab, Md Ataur Rauf.
Physically challenged category: Sukarno Ghosh, Dr Kazi Akhter Hossain, Dr Md Mamunur Rashid.
Female Category: Rubayet Farjana Hossain, Ratna Patro, Parvin Hasan, Nisat Farjana Chowdhury, Mahmuda Ali Sikder.
Youth category (under 40 years): Nafis Sikder, Md Amjad Khan, Gazi Golam Mortuza, Md Hasan, Md Zufiker Hossain Masud Rana.
Salaried person category: Laila Hossain, Mohammad Yusuf, Hosne Ara Hossain, Khaja Tajmahal, M A Haider Hossain.
Doctor category: Professor Dr A K M Fazlul Huq, Dr Pran Gopal Dutta, Dr Jahangir Kabir, Professor Dr Nurul Islam, and Dr N A M Momenujjaman.
Lawyer category: Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh, Ahsanul Karim, Advocate Mahbub-e-Alam, Kazi Moha: Tanjibul Alam, and Barrister Nihad Kabir.
Engineer Category: Mohammad Anwar Hossain, Md Hafizur Rahman, and Mohammad Hamidul Huq.
Architect Category: Fayez Ullah, Md Hasan Shams Uddin, and Md Iqbal Habib.
Miscellaneous category: (Individual): Sadar Uddin Khan, Abu Mohammad Ziauddin Khan, Nazrul Islam Majumder.
Miscellaneous category: (Companies): British American Tobacco Bangladesh Company Ltd, American Life Insurance Company, Lafarge Holcim Bangladesh Ltd, Nitol Motors Ltd.
Miscellaneous category: (Others): H Akbar Ali and Co Ltd, Expo Freight Ltd, Bangladesh Bank Employees Lending Cooperative Society Ltd, Gramscico Ltd.
[email protected], [email protected] & [email protected]