FE Today Logo
Search date: 09-10-2022 Return to current date: Click here

T20 Tri-nation

Tigers face New Zealand today

October 09, 2022 00:00:00

Bangladesh are keen to show their improvement in a bid to stay alive in the tri-nation T20 series when they will take on hosts New Zealand in their second match at Hagley Oval in Christchurch, New Zealand today (Sunday), reports BSS.

The match will start at 12 noon (BST) and it will be aired live on T Sports Channel.

The Tigers began their Tri-series campaign in disappointing fashion, losing the first game to Pakistan by 21 runs.

After being rested in the first match, captain Shakib Al Hasan is set to back to lead the side against New Zealand and unarguably his return would be a major boost to the side's aspiration to hit back into the winning way.

But the history and record against the Kiwis is not in Bangladesh's favour. The stat showed that Bangladesh won just three matches in 15 encounters against the Black Caps in this format but they lost all of the seven T20 matches they played on New Zealand backyard.

Bangladesh were win-less on New Zealand soil until their historical Test win here in the early of this year. This is the fact that could make them motivated to end their win-draught in T20 cricket here.

Overall Bangladesh played 136 T20 Internationals and while they won 47 matches, they had lost 86 matches. Three other matches ended in no result.

Meanwhile, New Zealand will also be looking to bounce back in the winning way after they suffered a six-wicket defeat to Pakistan in their first game.

Squads: Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Nurul Hasan (vc, wk), Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Liton Das (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Ebadot Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Najmul Hossain Shanto.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Martin Guptill, Mark Champman, Dane Cleaver, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Adam Milne.

Share if you like