FE Today Logo
Search date: 11-11-2020 Return to current date: Click here

New chairman, vice-chairman of CSBIB

FE REPORT | November 11, 2020 00:00:00

Prof. Mohammad Gias Uddin Talukdar has been elected as chairman and Mawlana M Shamaun Ali as vice-chairman of the Central Shariah Board for Islamic Banks of Bangladesh (CSBIB) for the remaining period of the tenure 2019-2023. The election was held at the CSBIB's General Secretariat in the city on Tuesday, said a statement.

The chairmen, managing directors, Shari'ah Supervisory Committees' and Shari'ah Councils' chairmen and member-secretaries and secretaries of its member-banks and institution (22 banks and one financial institution) cast their votes.

Chairman of Social Islami Bank Limited Prof. Md. Anwarul Azim Arif acted as the chief election commissioner while the Chairman of Executive Committee of Bank Asia Limited Rumee A Hossain and Managing Director & CEO of Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited Md. Mahbub-ul Alam acted as election commissioners.

The former executive director of Bangladesh Bank Md Abdul Awwal Sarker was the presiding officer.

[email protected]

Share if you like