FE Today Logo

Nagar Paribahan launched on two new routes

One more likely in November next

FE REPORT | October 14, 2022 00:00:00

The decorated buses of Dhaka Nagar Paribahan. A total of 100 such buses were launched in the city on Thursday on two new routes--Ghatarchar-Demra Staff Quarter and Ghatarchar-Kadamtoli. Fifty buses will run on each route — Focus Bangla

Dhaka Nagar Paribahan was launched on two new routes in the city on Thursday, with brand-new buses under the green cluster of the bus route franchise (BRF).

The new routes were opened nearly 10 months after inaugurating the first pilot route from Ghatarchar to Kanchpur.

Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader inaugurated the service on routes 22 and 26 at a ceremony at Bosila in the city, calling upon all the stakeholders like bus owners, workers and police to make the service successful.

Route 22 (Ghatarchar-Staff Quarter) covers Waspur, Basila, Basila CNG Station, Mohammadpur Bus Stand, Town Hall, Asad Gate, Farmgate, Karwan Bazaar, Bangla Motor, Shahbagh, Kakrail, Fakirapul, Motijheel, Kajla and Konapara.

Route 26 (Ghatarchar- Kanchpur) goes through Bosila, Bosila CNG Stand, Mohammadpur Bus Stand, Japan Garden City, Shyamoli, College Gate, Asad Gate, Dhanmondi 27, Kalabagan, Science Laboratory, Shahbag, Press Club, Gulistan, Dainik Bangla, Rajarbagh, Kamalapur, Dholpur, Shonir Akhra, Rayer Bagh, Matuail and Sign Board.

"Bringing discipline in transports and on the streets are major challenges for us. But we must overcome the challenges to ensure welfare of the people," the minister said, adding that discipline in the transportation sector is necessary to make all development moves fruitful.

Mayors of Dhaka South and North city corporations Sheikh Fazle Nur Taposh and Mohammad Atiqul Islam, Road Transport Highways Division Secretary ABM Amin Ullah Nuri, Dhaka Transport Coordination Authority (DTCA) Executive Director Sabiha Parveen also spoke on the occasion.

Mr Taposh said that from now on, there is no scope to bring in old buses in the city and the buses to be launched under Nagar Paribahan in 2022 and 2023 will also be the new ones. He also said the buses on other routes will be replaced with new buses in phases.

"We have challenges in operating new buses on the pilot route. But we started the service and now we have been able to fulfill the dream of the passengers and launched route 22 with 50 new buses. So, there is no scope to go behind," he told the function, informing the gathering to inaugurate route 23 in November next.

As the specialised committee on the BRF faced non-cooperation in forming the single company while launching buses on the pilot route, DNCC Mayor Atiqul Islam said the bus owners will be benefitted if joins the BRF.

He, however, sought cooperation from the BRTA and DMP so that no other buses can be operated on these routes.

The government formed the 10-member special committee to work on the BRF by bus route rationalisation (BRR), with the DSCC Mayor as its chairman, on September 9, 2018.

The DTCA, which works as the secretariat of the specialised committee, earlier proposed to develop the BRF by dividing the city in nine clusters with six-colour buses under 42 routes to be operated by 22 companies.

The three routes (21, 22 and 26) inaugurated so far are under the green cluster, which is divided into eight routes by merging existing 54 routes.

Under the pilot route, 50 buses including 30 double-deckers of BRTC were operating. Private operator Trans Silva contributed 20 buses to the route as no other private operators wanted to join the route by forming joint-venture.

According to DTCA, 70 bus stoppages have already been readied for the bus service. Land acquisition work is going on to establish four bus depot-terminals and one layover terminal for it.

[email protected]

Share if you like