FE Today Logo

Tribunal indicts 25 in BUET student Abrar murder case

FE REPORT | September 16, 2020 00:00:00

Police taking back to jail the accused in the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology student Abrar Fahad murder case after producing them before Dhaka Speedy Tribunal-1 in the city on Tuesday — Focus Bangla

A Dhaka Court on Tuesday opened the trial of all 25 accused after framing charges against them in connection with the murder of Abrar Fahad, a student of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET).

Abu Zafar Md Kamruzzaman, judge of the Dhaka Speedy Tribunal-1 of Dhaka, passed the order after dismissing the petitions placed by the accused for granting bail and discharging them from the case.

Twenty two accused, who had been produced in the court from jail, pleaded not guilty and demanded justice after the judge read out charges to them.

The court said that the testimony in the case would continue every working day from September 20 to October 01 this year, said Abu Abdullah Bhuiyan who represented the state in the case along with other counsels.

Abrar Fahad, a second-year-student of the university's electrical and electronic engineering department, was beaten to death allegedly by some BCL leaders between 10.00 pm on October 06 and 2:00 am on October 07 last year.

On November 13 last year, investigation officer of the case, inspector Md Wahiduzzaman, placed the charge-sheet in the general register office of the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate court of Dhaka accusing 25 students of BUET.

Of them, 21 accused were earlier arrested and one accused surrendered in the court later. During the investigation, eight of the accused gave confessional statements to magistrates on different dates. Three of the accused have been absconding since the incident.

The accused are Mehedi Hasan Rasel (civil engineering, batch 13), Muhtasim Fuad (civil engineering, batch 14), Anik Sarker (mechanical engineering, batch 15), Mehedi Hasan Robin (chemical engineering, batch 15), Ifti Mosharraf Hossain Shakal (biomedical engineering, batch 16), Moniruzzaman Monir (water resources engineering, batch 16), Meftahul Islam Zion (naval architecture and marine engineering, batch 15), Mazedur Rahman (materials and metallurgical engineering, batch 17), Muzahidur Rahman Muzahid (electronic and electrical engineering, batch 16), Tabakhkharul Islam Tanvir (mechanical engineering, batch 16), Hossain Mohammad Toha (mechanical engineering, batch 17), Jisan (electronic and electrical engineering, batch 16), Md Akash (civil engineering, batch 16), Md Shamim Billah (naval architecture and marine engineering, batch 17), Nazmus Sadat (mechanical engineering, batch 17), Ajtesamul Rabbi Tanim (civil engineering, batch 17), Morshed Amartya Islam (mechanical engineering, batch 17), Moaz Abu Huraira (computer science and engineering, batch 17), Muntasir Alam Jemi (mechanical engineering, batch 17), Amit Shaha (civil engineering, batch 16), Muztaba Rafid (chemical engineering, batch 16), Istiaq Hasan Munna (mechanical engineering, batch 15), Samsul Arefin Rafat (mechanical engineering, batch 17), and Mizanur Rahman (water resources engineering, batch 16) and Mahadul Setu (chemical engineering, batch 14).


Share if you like