FE Today Logo

DPL to begin on May 31 in T20 format

May 04, 2021 00:00:00

The Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis (CCDM) has decided to hold the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League (DPL) 2019-20 from 31 May 2021, reports UNB.

The previous season of the league was called off due to the surge of Covid-19 outbreak in the country after just one completed round of matches.

The competition will now have a fresh start and will be played in a T20 format instead of the usual 50 overs.

"The CCDM with the support of the BCB's plan to organise the DPL from May 31," CCDM Chairman KaziInam Ahmed was quoted in a media release sent by BCB on Sunday evening.

"As decided earlier it will be a T20 event. Considering the busy international schedule and the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup, we believe that T20 is the ideal format for the 2019-20 League," he added.

After the suspension of last year's Dhaka League, BCB organized two makeshift events later last year- BCB President's Cup and Bangabandhu T20 Cup. BCB had also started this year's National Cricket League, but due to the recent surge of Covid-19 cases, they opted to hold it temporarily.

"The BCB president has given a clear direction on the importance of players' safety during these times. The board has successfully completed two tournaments this season and has hosted the West Indies in Bangladesh. We will draw from these learnings and make plans for the Bangabandhu DPL accordingly. We know what this league means to the players and clubs and appreciate their support during the planning stage," KaziInam further added.

Share if you like