FE Today Logo

India dominate 'ICC Team of the Tournament'

Rohit named captain

November 21, 2023 00:00:00

NEW DELHI, Nov 20 (Agencies): They may not have managed to bring the Cup home, but Team India's unbeaten run before the final, which saw many players stepping up to do the job, led Rohit Sharma and Co's dominance in ICC's Team of the Tournament announced on Monday.

The ICC's lineup features players from champions Australia — who bagged the trophy for the sixth time — runners-up India, semi-finalists South Africa and New Zealand, as well as Sri Lanka.

India won 10 matches in a row (the semi-final and nine league games), but the match that mattered the most was sealed by Australia who were the better team in the final at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday.

Virat Kohli won the 'Player of the Tournament' award for his 765 runs in 11 matches, while Mohammed Shami was the highest wicket-taker with 24 wickets in 7 matches.

Virat and Shami are among the six Indian players in ICC's Team of the Tournament, with Rohit (captain), KL Rahul (wicketkeeper-batter), Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja being the other four.

Champions Australia, who lifted their record-extending sixth ODI World Cup trophy, are represented by all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and leg-spinner Adam Zampa among the eleven players picked by the ICC.

South Africa opener Quinton de Kock, New Zealand's middle-order batter Daryl Mitchell and Sri Lankan left-arm pacer Dilshan Madushanka complete the line-up.

The 12th-man's spot was given to Proteas pacer Gerald Coetzee. He got 20 wickets in the World Cup.

The selection panel consisted of Ian Bishop, Kass Naidoo, Shane Watson (Commentators), Wasim Khan (ICC General Manager, Cricket) and Sunil Vaidya (Journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror).

ICC team of the tournament: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Dilshan Madushanka, Adam Zampa

Share if you like