FE Today Logo

Rajshahi clinch Women\\\'s Nat\\\'l Cricket League title

June 21, 2015 00:00:00

An all-round performance by Lata Mondal enabled Rajshahi Division to clinch their first-ever Women's National Cricket League title dethroning Rangpur Division by 11 runs in the final of the 7th edition of the meet at the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium in the city Saturday, reports UNB.

Rajshahi Division batted first after winning the toss and scored 105 runs for 3 in stipulated 20 overs with one down Lata Mondal hammering an unconquered 47 runs of 41 balls hitting two boundaries.

Besides, Sharifa Khatun (not out 14), Eka Mallick (12) and Ferdousi (10) and Panna Ghosh (not out 9) were the other notable scorers for Rajshahi.

Farzana Akhter grabbed two wickets or 11 runs while Fahima Khatun took one for 12 runs.

In reply, Rangpur Division were all out for 94 runs in 18.5 overs with Farzana Haque making 23, Fahima Khantun 15 and Sumona Akhter 16 runs.

Lata Mondal, who scored the match highest not out 47 , also displayed her brilliance in bowling, grabbing three wickets for 20 runs and was adjudged the player of the match. She was named as the player of the tournament scoring total 205 runs and grabbing 7 wickets in eight matches.

Ayesha Rahman of Khulna was named as the highest scorer of the league scoring 206 runs in seven matches while Shathira Jakir of Rangpur took 12 wickets in eight matches and was adjudged highest wicket taker of the league.

Share if you like